Letter to ABF (Part I)

Old 07-23-2007, 02:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
It is what it is

Letter to ABF (Part I)

I know this is probably the wrong thing to do. I am harboring resentment, anger and hostility so I thought I'd write all the things I would like to say but know that I shouldn't to my abf. If you care to read and/or comment, feel free. I am currently new to Al-Anon and have a lot of work to do. I realize that and know that I'm not where I need to be yet. Please forgive my tyraid. By the way, I've put off writing this for a while but I fear if I don't write it down, it's going to come out verbally and I don't want to do that because it will make me no better than afb.

Dear ABF,
I want to tell you all the things I've been thinking lately. I need to voice these feelings and get them out there instead of keeping them holed up inside of my head. It's not good for me, in fact I believe it's toxic and it needs to be released. I'm sure I am going to write things that aren't fair to you and I'm sure I am blaming you for some things which are my fault too as it takes two people to have a relationship. I don't believe I'm co-dependant but maybe after I write some of this down, I'll see it differently.

I am so unhappy with you. I did not expect this kind of life. I feel lied to and deceived by you. Maybe that's not exactly the truth, but it's how it feels. I don't completely feel like a victim because I also made decisions in this relationship. However, I don't feel you were honest with me regarding many things when you should have been up-front with me. My guess is that you were afraid I wouldn't have ventured into this relationship with you had I known. You were right. I wouldn't have. I was too healthy to continue in relationship that had an addition problem if I had been aware.