NEW to all of this

Old 07-08-2007, 05:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question NEW to all of this

Hey there all. I am new to this forum and Im kinda new to the whole concept that I need to face the problems in my life with my father who is an alcoholic and a friend who is going through recovery from drugs and alcohol. So please bare with me.

For a while now, I have been moved out of my fathers house. For a long time I pushed religion on him and tried to force him to be different. Now that I am an adult, I realize that was the wrong thing to do. I now accept that hes an alcoholic and that my mother is a drug addict and that I cant do anything for them but be patient.

However I now find myself in love with a recovering alocholic and drug addict. Hes only been "clean" for 40 days. We arent dating because he feels like he needs to work on things to better himself for me. I cant help but to think about myself and be selfish. Which I know is wrong. So I guess my question is how can I deal with him wanting to be better for a relationship in the future? I guess Im still kind of confused about what I am asking and all. I just wonder what if anything I can do to help him with his recovery?...

wow. I will post more later I just realized that I am really confused. Anyway I need yalls help.
What should I do?
Old 07-08-2007, 05:30 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Don't get undies in a bunch

Welcome.

I wouldn't say what you have tried is wrong...I would rather say that other things may work better. We do what we do till we know a better way.
As for parents... we need stand up for what is best for us but be respectful at the same time towards them. Boundaries we could use are not beng selfish...they are doing what is better. Not showing up or leaving early from a visit if your parents are dunk or high could be such a boundary. Always remember prayer for them as part of your tools for use.