new to sr

Old 06-19-2007, 05:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new to sr

I am new to SR as far as posting however have been reading for some time. Just sent my husband off to rehab and am sitting here feeling sorry for myself. We have been married for 6 years and I have been dealing with his lies and manipulation the whole time. He was sober for a while but the last few years he has been using on a regular basis but trying to keep it from me. I could always tell but when I tried to talk about it of couse he would deny it. I want to divorce and move on with my life but I am feeling a bit guilty about serving him with papers in recovery. I know that i need recovery too - I have tried Naranon meetings but didn't feel comfortable there. I guess what i am looking for is for someone to tell me it's okay to move on and things will get better. My family and friends are very supportive but since they haven't lived it they can only understand so much. Part of me, a small part, wants to stay but i just don't see how it can work. I keep wondering - What If this is the time he really stays clean.
Old 06-19-2007, 05:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Don't get undies in a bunch

Originally Posted by nina01 View Post
What If this is the time he really stays clean.
Welcome to SR Nina

Then that would mean he is finding recovery for himself. You would need do the same. Anon meetings are one source to do that.
Stay or go... it would still be a good idea for you to find some support and self recovery. Stay and he gets clean and stays clean... it will only get as better as what you both put into your own individual recovery.
Leave... it will only get as good as your own recovery allows.
Drugs and alcohol affect all who are around them, not just the user. You may not see the need but there is a need for you to find answers for yourself.
Read the posts that say "sticky" beside them at the top of each forum. I am sure you will find a few answers there.
Old 06-19-2007, 06:02 PM
  # 3 (permalink)