Notices

New? Don't know at this point

Old 06-09-2007, 04:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New? Don't know at this point

Hello all
I think the last time I came to this site was maybe a year ago. I wish I could say I am better. No such luck.
My drinking is way out of control. I feel lousy. I am a professional with a big secret. A secret my hubby doesn't even know (he travels a lot, I drink alone). I keep telling myself today is the day...I'm going to get it together. Nope, isn't happening. I can't do this on my own. I do NOT want to go to AA in my town. My town is so small, and I am so afraid of exposure. I am a teacher. My drinking has not affected my job, or my reputation, but if I keep this up, it will. If I don't get it together soon, the chances I take will soon expose my dirty little secret.
I keep telling myself I can control this. I can drink like normal people. I have proven to myself over and over and OVER that I cannot. I really do believe at this point that this is bigger than me, and that I need help before it ruins me. I think I am going to try a therapist before I actually go to AA. I know most people at this point will tell me to go straight to AA. It's like this, though. My drinking is a symptom of a bigger problem that I have left unresolved. A problem that feeds this drinking. If I can get to the bottom of these issues, then I will not abuse alcohol anymore. I do not want to spend the rest of my life sitting in a room talling about alcoholism. I want to talk about my other issues, with a professional therapist. Don't judge...I am just venting. I don't want my drinking problem to be the center of my life after I quit. I am, however, more than willing to spend all the time it might take to get to the real issue.
Man, reading this I sound like I am in complete denial. Maybe I am.