Notices

Another first day

Old 03-28-2007, 02:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Another first day

I am new to SR, and am once again starting on day one. Not only is it already driving me completely crazy, but I am also doubting my ability to make it through the evening without a drink. I have ruined so many things due to my drinking. Relationships, self-esteem, happiness. I imagine the sense of freedom that is associated with an alcohol-free life, and I so badly want to be a part of it. Though my personal strength is a large part of why I continue this behavior, the pressure I feel from friends is also extremely influential. Instead of being supportive of my choice to give this habit up, they become angry and judgmental. Hopelessness is already setting in. Anyone have advice?
Old 03-28-2007, 02:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Don't listen to your firends, don't listen to the voice in your head telling you it's ok to have "just one". Stay strong, keep posting and reading, go to a meeting and just listen. Come home from that meeting with phone numbers of people who will support your sobriety.

Keep busy. Change your routine -

TinLizzy
Old 03-28-2007, 02:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hopelessness? Nah.

What now seems insurmountable will (hopefully) some day look like a curve in a road towards something so much better. You have already answered your own question about the advice you seek: you want to rid your life of toxic influences, alcohol being one of them. The other toxic influence? Those who cajole you to continue drinking.
There IS a sober, wonderful, intelligent, fun, creative, community out there. You will be amazed at how quickly your own sobriety will gravitate you towards others of like mind, and how quickly you will pull away from the pressure of your so-called friends.

In my little world, my friends want what is best for me. After being drunk for 25 years, it is clear that sobriety is best for me. Anyone who doesn't agree with that is no friend of mine!