Notices

how do i begin...

Old 02-21-2007, 12:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy how do i begin...

Hi there everone! I have been drinking myself into a stupor for twenty years now. Every morning I feel like crap and every morning I swear I will stop. Its killing me. I know this. Half of the time I cant even go out the front door for fear that I will have to face reality.
How do you not have that drink? How do you remember that drinking is only going to make you feel like poo? I can usually last a day or two and then it all seems ok. So I start again. What makes you remember?
Old 02-21-2007, 01:26 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Australia,

Welcome!

There is lots of support here. What worked for me at the beginning was changing patterns and routines. I made myself do different things at different times and it worked for me.
Old 02-21-2007, 01:30 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi OZ! welcome, your in the right place to get that one answered.
The first thing I had to do was to addmit that I was beaten.That alcohol had taken me to hell and the only way back was for me to change.I first tried limiting the amount I drank but that was futile,within days I was back on the sauce trail drinking more & more.Eventualy I turned to AA for help,firstly I gained an insight as to why I drank as I did and why I couldnt stop.Then they gave me a programe of recovery. I'm 52 days sober now and I remember not to drink by using the tools they gave me.
Give AA a go its worked for this pomm!
chris
Old 02-21-2007, 01:40 PM
  # 4 (permalink)