New Member: Need advice/Sorry, very long, heavy on the heart

Old 01-14-2007, 09:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face New Member: Need advice/Sorry, very long, heavy on the heart

Dear Members,
I'm new to a online support group, and adult children support group, but done a lot of therapy and other support groups: Heres my problem; (forgive the co-dependant backslide here)!
My husband's family lives several states away and the 18 years we've been married, I have tried to keep some form of family tie with my husband's family because of our child and because I feel he will regret attempting some contact, inspite of being burned by them every time.

Last attempt was 3 years ago, we actually went and did Christmas with them and my husband's sibs, it was strained but it always is, but my husband did it for his mom, me, and our daughter.
This year one week before Xmas, I called my m-i-law and she told me that she has cancer for the 2nd time, and to make a long story short, my husband has yet to talk to her, and doesn't want too. Short version is that he says he does not feel anything towards them as being his family, and since they make no efforts hardly at all to contact us(only through b'day, Xmas,and thank you cards) what could I say?

Sadly, like all dysf. families they (especially his mom) has used him as the black sheep to project blame of his rebellious youth, as the reason his father, during my husband's childhood, was drunk and be abusive, especially since my husband's the oldest.