Thanks to all of you.

Old 12-30-2006, 03:31 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Thanks to all of you.

This is my second visit to this site. After my first visit I saved it to my favorites knowing I would be back. It is 6:00 a.m. and I have awoken yet again to find the A Husband passed out on the couch. Coming here and reading all the post seems to bring me a bit of peace and brings me back to following my steps. I am still searching for that serenity thing... LOL. But, I get it for a while when I read your postings.
I am a newbie here but, not to Al-Anon and alcoholism. I have been the child of alcoholic parents and the wife of an alcoholic Husband for 23 years.
I think I know it all until I come here and read. I know nothing. I will never understand the alcoholic. But, coming here has made me see I am not alone. I have gone to meetings and not returned and gone back to fighting my fight. It doesn't work. Nothing does. So why am I still here after 23 years? Love. It isn't the kids, they are older now, it isn't the $, I can make a living, it isn't the business, the house, the cars or the dog. Its love.
Maybe it is also familiar....
I am not abused, or beaten. What I am is incredibily lonely. I don't need another man or a partner to help me cure that. I can not see myself with anyone else and when he drinks himself to death (and he will) I don't ever see myself wanting to be with anyone. To be a slave to someone elses moods and attitudes or addictions is just abhorent to me just to consider.
So please, someone here tell me I am not alone, I am not the only one in this situation and I am not crazy for staying.
Old 12-30-2006, 04:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to you JMD612.... I want to give you a hug and hold your hand while pointing out all these posts on Sober Recovery.... You are not crazy, you are not alone and you do not have to live like this.