Notices

How do I help?

Old 11-30-2006, 11:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How do I help?

Hello,
I've never posted anything on any forum before. I'm a therapist working with adolescents and their families. I don't do drug & alcohol treatment and don't know that much about recovery and I find myself often working with parents or family members who are in recovery. This looked like a place I might get some good input from people who know. On my mind right now is a single mom with 5 kids in recovery from Meth addiction. What do I need to know to be helpful?
Old 11-30-2006, 11:58 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Post Drug/Alcohol info

Hey There g_rex ----

Instead of looking for info from folks here, I would suggest calling your local AA/NA Intergroup.....I believe you are close to Roseburg, Or; and their AA Intergrioup phone number is (or may still be.... (o: ): 541-673-7552 -- if this is not the current, you can check your local phone book, under alcoholism.... These folks should be good at pointing you in the right direction....ie: books and pamphlets....or suggesting other counsellors in your area who specialize in alcohol and drug problems and recovery ----

I hope this helps a bit ------ (o:

NoelleR
DOS: 6/23/86
Old 11-30-2006, 02:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Old & Sober Member of AA

I think Noelle's suggestion has merit; and I commend you, g rex, for wanting to "educate" yourself, in order to be able to counsel your clients.

However, it troubles me that in this 21st Century, when drug/alcohol abuse is of epidemic proportions, there would be a lack of knowledge on the part of any professional. I can appreciate that there may be areas of specialization...heaven knows the medical profession has become so diverse and specialized, it borders on the ridiculous (bring back the good old home visiting g.p.)...but, I should think there would be ways to keep abreast of the psychological needs of the general public.