Please welcome Myrtle

Old 11-03-2006, 10:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question new member

I am new to this and don't really know where to start. I am married to an alcoholic who is in denial and has been for 8 years or so. I am here to see what other people say and to get some input on what is going to happen. His family and I are in the process of doing an intervention and I have been so nervous about this. We are working with a trained interventionist and he will be there to help. I just feel so worried about this this, that he is not going to accept our help and then where do I go from there. I have been married to him for 36 years and have tried to get him into a recovery program for that past 6 months but he doesn't think he has a problem. He thinks because he only drinks beer and he doesn't ever miss work because of it that he has it under control. I know he doesn't and hope this intervention will help. Has anyone else ever had an intervention? If so how did it go?
Myrtle
Old 11-03-2006, 12:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR.... I am glad you found us.

Im sorry but I have no experience on interventions.... though I have been told that you should always use a professional so its good that you are.

I do however have a ton of experience with Alcoholism and can tell you that your in the right place... people here really do understand and your not alone. Im not sure if you have checked out Al-anon, I have heard some wifes say that when they worked there program it in turn helped the Alcoholic in their lives.

I look forward to getting to know you, pull up a chair and read the stickies up top.
Old 11-03-2006, 01:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi, Myrtle! So glad you are here with us.