Hi-I'm a newbie...what now?

Old 11-02-2006, 11:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi-I'm a newbie...what now?

I went to my first al-anon meeting today. I know that there is a problem, not to the degree of others there, but I understand that alcoholism is a progessive disease and I want to figure out sooner than later how this is all going to turn out. Before my 18 month old son ever gets to see it.
My husband doesn't have "issues" often, but when he does he drives and is verbally abusing to me and others. He has been embarrassing to me at times and to himself. He tells people thinks that he shouldn't when he's drunk and almost lost hius job over talking about his raise to other employees. His father also had a problem with it and always denied it and my H uses the excuse that he's not as bad as his father was.
I have been the nagging wife, I have wasted energy and screamed yelled cried and begged and I am done. I want to make my life better so that my son can in return have a better life.
My question now is...what now?
I will go to the meetings, but what do i do at home. I don't want to harp on his anymore, sober or not sober, but do I just ignore the problem and hope he comes around before I realize I have to leave? or is there something I can do in the mean time?
Old 11-02-2006, 11:32 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

You're on the right track...

now keep going to your meetings and posting here. Day by day you will see the answers. There are no complete answers that come all at one time. A person has to recognize that they have a problem before they start doing something about it. You did. Way to go.
Old 11-02-2006, 11:36 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
been searching for the dream