Newbie here . . . need advice

Old 11-01-2006, 12:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here . . . need advice

I see there is a newbie forum but I'll start here. My mum is an addict. She's been in denial about it for years and so have I. It took having my house forclosed on and now with the bank threatening to reposses my car to realize that something is majorly wrong! My grandmother is also an addict. She and my mother were living with me. My mum's cleaned up before. She damn near died the first time. I thought she was genuinely sick but now I realize what's going on. She refuses to go to a counselor or anything. She tells me she's getting off of them and has found a new job. Training starts in 2 weeks. I've made the difficult decision to cut off the money. I put gas in the car on the way home from work and give her five dollars for cigarettes. I'm only a few days into saying no but the world hasn't come to an end! I'm trying to be supportive and positive around her. I know in the next few days things are going to get much more difficult. When she runs out of "medicine" she's going to do everything she can to make me give her money. I just hope I can be strong enough to say no. Just wanted to share. Any advice is greatly appreciated. I feel like I'm waking up from this horrible nightmare. I'm not sure how to change things. I know I can't change her but I'm not sure how to move on myself.

Last edited by Midnightfrost; 11-01-2006 at 12:27 PM.
Old 11-01-2006, 12:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR.... we are glad that you found us.

Im sorry you are going through this... May I ask why your Mother and Grandmother are living with you?

It has been my experience that whenever we change the dance the A in our life will do everything they can to get our action back in line with there needs/wants. Unfortunally nothing changes unless we stay strong in our boundries.