Notices

Please tell me it gets better

Old 10-27-2006, 01:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Please tell me it gets better

Hi, I'm new to SR, and I've been clean almost seven months from years of shooting meth. This has been without any doubt the most difficult thing I have ever gone through, although I don't regret a single pain-filled minute of it. I went from being a highly successful suburban supermom, Girl Scout leader, PTA officer, etc. to a penniless, homeless drug addict who had lost her job, home, husband, money - and worst of all, her kids. I cannot even think yet about the wreakage I've left in my wake. I cannot even think about all the things I've done in the last ten years that were unspeakable, humiliating and degrading - just in the name of getting my drug. The only thing I have accomplished so far is getting out of the horrible world I was living in, find a loving support group at a church in my new city, and one day at a time saying no.

I never dreamed that starting over would be so difficult. Even things like getting a drivers license, checking account, job, medical assistance (I'm also bipolar) have turned out to be almost impossible. And one other thing that terrifies me is that some of the effects of the drug use don't seem to be wearing off. I hate to leave the house because I'm still haunted by those horrible feelings of paranoia, and getting anything organized or staying on task with anything is impossible. I thought for sure those would go away when I quit using. Have I permanently damaged my brain?

Although I am positive that I never, ever want to go back to where I came from (to do that would be certain death), the road ahead right now doesn't look so great either - at least it looks terribly overwhelming.

I guess what I'm saying is that I hope that this is not as good as it gets. Seven months seems like a long time and that I should be back to "normal", but perhaps I'm not right. Guess I just need a dose of hope.