Notices

Becoming Humble

Old 09-17-2006, 08:52 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Addict

Becoming Humble

Hello everyone.

It's been quite awhile since I last posted here. A lot of stuff has happened, good and bad, but I am here — still alive, and grateful for all of you. I really wanted to share my experience here, even though words cannot begin to express my feelings about it.

Two weeks ago, I went into the hospital for my out-of-control drug and alcohol use. I stayed there for about 12 hours, and then they transported me to a Detox Center/Rehab Clinic where I stayed for 13 days. They released me 2 days ago due to my lack of insurance. I'm going to the county office tomorrow to find out what kind of aftercare I am eligible for. I have attended 3 NA meetings (one each day) since I got out. I am striving for 90 meetings in 90 days.

I've been posting on SR for a few months, but I now realize that much of what I thought was crap. I've been in denial about so many things. Even now, I feel ignorant of my recovery. It took a locked-down facility and no using to make me realize what a problem my addictions are. I thought I had it in control, that I was recovering on my own without much outside help. But I was wrong. I have barely begun to recover.

While in rehab, I felt safe because I knew there was no way to use. Since I have gotten out, I feel scared all the time. It seems that now, more than ever, my mind is buzzing with thoughts of using. I am struggling, but I keep forcing myself forward. My counselor in rehab always said, "Put the body first and the mind will follow." So that's what I am trying to do.

Right now I don't have much more to say. I am still adjusting to what's happened and am trying to get over the shock of everything. I guess I just wanted to say hello to all of you and let you know I am still here.

I finally understand how important you all are in my recovery. We need each other to survive this disease. And I am so thankful to have you here.