I'm a newbie...intro/rant

Old 09-09-2006, 01:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Exclamation I'm a newbie...intro/rant

I am 24 yrs old and am married to and A. I have 4...yes 4 children with him and have been with him since I was 16. I absolutely love him when he's sober. He's a loving and attentive husband and father. When he's drunk, he hates us. I work 32 hrs a week and go to school. I do this in the hope that someday things will get better. I have an associate's degree in Chemical dependency couseling so I know the programs, the disease model, the "facts." I have found that I am now at a point that none of that is helping me.

I have known since I met AH that he had a problem with drinking but didn't understand how it would effect me. Between his irrational behavior and my irrational thought, something has to give.

My problem for today is this:

Husband was sober for three wonderful years. Things were not perfect but we were a united front...us against the worls. Six weeks after our third child was born my H lost his job and found comfort at the bar. Then, 2-3 months later some other issue came up and he drank again. This has been a pattern for the last 1.5 years. He is sober for a while and right when I get comfortable, he does it again. Tonight, he went with some friends to band practice and I couldn't get a hold of him to make sure he had his keys. I finally left a message on his friends phone that since I couldn't get a hold of him, I would just head over ther. "Magically" AH finally realized I called and called me to let me know he'd be home in the morning. I asked if he'd been drinking, which he was but it's "not a big deal."

It's a big deal...our Dr. told him 3 weeks ago that if he continues, he won't remember his kids in 5 yrs...developing "wet brain." Even with that information he doesn't care. His friends don't care, his family tries to be supportive of me but they just don't get how bad he is. I'm the crazyy one.