Notices

Question.......

Old 08-11-2006, 11:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question.......

I'm new to recovery (under 30 days). I'm having trouble sleeping at night. I have a prescription for Ambein. I have been hesitant to take them to help fall asleep on nights I have trouble because I know a drug is a drug, prescribed or not.. Surprisingly, this is one drug I never abused however. 30 of them had lasted 5 months. My question is....... Would it be OK to take them when needed or should I continue to stare at the TV until 3-4am?
Old 08-11-2006, 11:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I would check with your doc and see if they are habit forming. If they are be real careful. I have the sleep issue, so I was not good with taking anything at first. Then the doc suggested Trazadone. My issue is with falling to sleep b/c my mind races and won't relax and shut down always.

Trazadone is not a sleep med, it is actually used as an anti seizure med for epilepsy or anti depressant for bi polar patients when taken in large doses. In small doses it has the side effect of quieting the mind only. It works. It is not habit forming and I sleep. Beauty. I take it when I need to but I always try to sack out with out it first.

Peace, Levi.
Old 08-12-2006, 04:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Option and welcome to SR!

I understand the not sleeping and I know it can be aweful but I have chronic insomnia so.......another show lol.

About the Ambien.......my doc tried me on it and it worked the first couple nights, after that, it went in the trash. From what I have read, it can be addictive. Please do not crush or break it in half because it actually has 2 layers, the first dissolves quick so as to relax you immediately, the 2nd comes later to help keep you asleep. Like Levi said though, you should NEVER take anything without first talking to your doctor. Ambien messes with the chemicals in your brain........kinda scarey if ya think about it!!! Give the doc a call, Im sure he/she will advise you.
Liss