Notices

A bit confused...

Old 02-12-2017, 03:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A bit confused...

Hi
I'm new at this. And I'm on day 23. Trying this by myself. I have a husband and a 3 yr old. I have been diagnosed with anxiety disorder, which I never really gave much thought as it was who I am. Still is. I grew up with an anxious & raging mother and an alcoholic father. I recognize their traits in myself. I do not consider myself an alcoholic per say but I was heading straight in that direction. I have been drinking since my mid-twenties (I'm 40) and it got to where I had 4 to 8 drinks per night. Now, back on day 23. For the past few days, I've experienced such anxiety displayed by irritation, mood swings, rage triggered by anything..the smallest thing. Almost like feeling that everything is unfair, that I can't express myself, being misunderstood.. I don't know. It gets to the point where want that drink really bad. Is it possible that drinking alleviated all those feelings before, that it was such a constance in my life that I never really felt it? I'm at a loss, is it withdrawal? Am I going nuts? Am I seriously going to be stuck like this, wanting to kill someone because a fork got misplaced? It sounds funny, but it's affecting our whole family, making me withdraw from them to ride the wave. Any thoughts or I am imagining things? Speaking of which, for the past few days, I think I've hallucinated hearing someone talk when the whole house is quiet. Anyway.

OceanSpring
Old 02-12-2017, 04:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Roller coaster emotions, intense anger/frustration/anxiety and hallucinations? Yup. I went through the same thing.