Notices

Anxiety is coming back since quitting drinking

Old 06-03-2014, 07:48 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Anxiety is coming back since quitting drinking

I have been drinking for 10 years on the weekends and quit about a month ago. I've always had anxiety and depression and drinking helped! I feel like because of alcohol I was able to experience a lot of social things that I otherwise would have skipped out on. In my drinking days, I was outgoing and if I had to do something scary I would just say screw it and do it and be super ballsy.

Now that I have quit I am starting to realize how bad my anxiety is. I am extremely shy and weary of social interaction and new things. Its like I just did a 180. The past 10 years of drinking and partying have flown by and I never did a lot of things I wanted to do, like move out of my home town, and go to graduate school. I thought maybe alcohol was the cause but now I am thinking that its my anxiety and social phobias. I thought quitting alcohol would fix all of my problems and set me on the right track, but now I'm even more scared because alcohol wasn't the problem! I'm the problem!

I feel lost and like a coward because I want a better job and to go to school and to better myself but change is terrifying to me. Why do I want these things if they are terrifying to me? Is it just because society has pressured me to want more or am I really unhappy here? Its not just a case of the butterflies, its full blown terror. For me, it feels like death to imagine meeting a whole new group of people and being in a new place. I think things over constantly in my mind and look at every possible outcome until I drive myself mad with anxiety and just give up.

Its very exhausting mentally. That is why I drank.