Notices

no more klonopin

Old 11-14-2013, 07:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

no more klonopin

Apparently doctors frown upon taking more than the prescribed dosage. Why they would give it to someone addicted to alcohol is the question. I'm just looking for a "feeling", and I found it. Hmmm... so I'm having it slowly taken away and replaced with Vistaril. Has anyone had any luck with that?
Old 11-29-2013, 01:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I have no experience with Hydroxyzine, other than knowing it's an antihistamine and considered a good treatment for anxiety and has none of the addiction potential inherent in Klonopin.

And, yeah, klonopin is one wickedly addictive beast. What dosage were you on and is your doctor tapering you or just cutting you off?
Old 11-29-2013, 01:53 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I was tapered off over the last two weeks. I was prescribed 25mg twice a day, but I had been taking it 4 to 5 times a day. A few days I took 6. When I first got off, I had a rough couple of days. I was so emotional! ! I don't know if it was coming off the klonopin or not. The vistiril seems to be working ok. I just liked being able to feel it working.
Old 11-29-2013, 02:13 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I assume you mean .25 milligrams, or a quarter of a milligram, so four to five times a day would equal a milligram or slightly more.

I'm glad you weathered the detox OK. I assume you weren't on it too long. I had a horrible 10-year experience with Klonopin and can attest that it indeed works until it doesn't.

Congrats on Oct. 18.

I must say that at three years sober, including three years off Klonopin, my panic and anxiety are manageable without medication.

Klonopin was very much part of my problem. I'm glad you avoided a monster that swallowed me whole.
Old 11-29-2013, 02:27 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I assume you mean .25 milligrams, or a quarter of a milligram, so four to five times a day would equal a milligram or slightly more.