SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Anxiety Disorders (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/anxiety-disorders/)
-   -   Scratching... (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/anxiety-disorders/130466-scratching.html)

catalina 08-10-2007 01:10 AM

Scratching...

Hello, I'm Cat. I have been dealing with with my anxiety disorder since I was a little girl....there have been good years and bad years. I havent been on meds or seen a psychiatrist in a few years, and I have a new problem: scratching.
I can't stop. I don't even see a connection between my anxiety level and the scratching. I just scratch, a lot, even if I'm telling myself to stop I can't. This happens a couple times a day. Has anyone ever experienced a compulsion similar to this? What does it mean, what will help me stop?
Thank you.

~Catalina

Introvrtd1 08-12-2007 02:34 PM

Cat,

Im no expert on this one, but ur possibly OCDing.

Is it that ur actually feeling itchy? Or no?

It may be something physiological to the anxiety. Just a guess.

Are u seeing a dr or therapist?

Professionals like these should be helpful.

Intro

catalina 08-15-2007 01:59 AM

No, Intro, I dont itch. I just scratch and scratch. Everyone has been telling me its a sign of OCD, so I'm considering going back to my psychologist about this, before it gets out of hand.

the night itch 10-17-2007 07:47 PM

Originally Posted by catalina (Post 1445317)
Hello, I'm Cat. I have been dealing with with my anxiety disorder since I was a little girl....there have been good years and bad years. I havent been on meds or seen a psychiatrist in a few years, and I have a new problem: scratching.