Notices

Today

Old 07-07-2006, 11:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Today

I was at the V A hospital in Bedford Mass today. I'm a Vietnam Veteran. I've had to deal with having to kill woman and children. Many of these people use them. Today, I was asked by a Veteran just returning from war. How do I deal with it. Other than drinking, I just don't know. I understand that we were following orders. However, we both had to kill somebody. This has been the most difficult task. trying to seperate the 2 Don's. The one that wouldn't harm anyone, from the one that was trained and, sadly learned, how to kill.
Old 07-07-2006, 11:36 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Don't get undies in a bunch

My oldest son was a Marine for 5 years. My youngest son just signed on with the Navy. My FIL and my own father were both Navy in WW2 and Korea.
What each has done or will do is protect those who are at home and that protection has costs.
Just as the Navy slogan says..."Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of All Who Threaten It"
War stinks but it also regains the peace for the masses.

What greater good is there then that of giving oneself for others?

Don you and all other vets have gone above and beyond for the freedom of so many. You have nothing to be shameful for and I thank you.
Old 07-08-2006, 12:00 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Don...

My family tree is filled with Vets...
from 1776 to my youngest Grandson now in Basic.

My Dad was 100% disabled
as is my son and his son is rated 50% presently.

I have lived with them and cared for them
and volunteered at Walter Reed in the burn unit.

I am so very proud of you and all who serve for freedom.
You are an inspiration to so many!

"some gave all and all gave some"

Blessings and Hugs...
Old 07-08-2006, 12:10 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Don, I'm sorry for what you have been through. I hope you know that I appreciate all that you have gone through to serve our country. Words don't seem enough, but know that you are not alone.