Notices

What is alcoholic thinking?

Old 01-17-2006, 12:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What is alcoholic thinking?

Given that I am very new to recovery and alanon, I thought I would ask another questions here on the AA forum. I have heard of alcoholic thinking and that at times it plagues individuals in recovery. What is alcoholic thinking?
Old 01-17-2006, 04:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Irondoorknob
Given that I am very new to recovery and alanon, I thought I would ask another questions here on the AA forum. I have heard of alcoholic thinking and that at times it plagues individuals in recovery. What is alcoholic thinking?
Welcome to SR Ironknob.

From the AA Big Book, The Doctor's Opinion:

"Men and women drink essentially because they like the effect produced by alcohol. The sensation is so elusive that, while they admit it is injurious, they cannot after a time differentiate the true from the false. To them, their alcoholic life seems the only normal one. They are restless, irritable and discontented, unless they can again experience the sense of ease and comfort which comes at once by taking a few drinks-drinks which they see others taking with impunity."

To me, the key words here are restless, irritable and discontented. Alcoholic thinking is the idea that having a drink is the answer to my problems, despite the obvious outcome, which is once this thinking is takes hold and is followed with a drink, the physical compulsion sets in and off I go again. Alcoholism isn't so much a drinking problem as it is a thinking problem. Once I quit drinking, the next hurdle is to change my thinking.
Old 01-17-2006, 05:12 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
doing the inside job

The same as a co-dependent thinks.
Co-dependendcy is an addiction. The cycle of destruction is the same.
If you grew up around alcoholism or married into it, you are
effected. You can divorce or end the realtionship that you are in
at the moment....You'll somehow marry the exact same person