Notices

Not sure what to do...can you help?

Old 11-29-2005, 10:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Not sure what to do...can you help?

Hi- this is my first time on this site, but I am not sure what to do. The nature of the problem lends itself to a certain level of discretion- so who can you talk to? (deep breath) Here goes- well my fiancee and alcohol has been somewhat of an issue for a few years always grumbling in the background. If we were to go out (which is not at all frequent- perhaps once a month) she would drink until intoxication. With it came a huge mood swing to a different personality - somewhat angry and snippy. She does not drink daily, but we do have some drinks on the weekend...split a bottle of wine on Fri, Sat, and sometimes sunday night. I don't really drink that often and could take it or leave it for the rest of my life. I grew up in a virtually alcohol free environment as my parents don't drink (my mom is even allergic!), nor do my brothers. This weekend I came downstairs into the garage and found her drinking from another bottle of wine hidden in a cabinet. She was very defensive and naturally was in denial. I was/am devastated. She tells me that when we have a bottle of wine, she would go downstairs to her secret stash and have an extra glass. This apparently has been going on for 6 months.