Notices

Why can't I stop?

Old 10-09-2005, 10:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face Why can't I stop?

I've been visiting sober recovery for several months but this is my first post.

Up until about 2 years ago, I never drank. For whatever reason, it just didn't appeal to me. Then, I broke my ankle (while training for a marathon no less) and pretty much hit bottom. I had a beer that I actually liked. So I started trying others. Then it was a weekend event to try a new six-pack every saturday. Then it became a 12 pack over the weekend. It gradually progressed and now, two years and 25 extra pounds later, I can down a 12 pack per day (evening) and still function. Sometimes I drink more and that does impact functionality; getting to work late (if at all), looking like hell, feeling like hell. Needless to say, I haven't been out running in quite some time.

I recently read a book titled "Will Power is Not Enough" and it was very helpful in educating me about what moves people into addiction and keeps them there. It also addressed my most pressing question, "why can't I just stop?" I'm extremely shy so going to AA has been a challenge. I have the schedule of all meetings in my area but the best I've been able to do is make it to the parking lot (not actually go inside). I was diagnosed as a chronic depressive at a young age and have been on some kind of medication for most of my life. In fact, I'm very surprised I made it this long without battling some kind of addiction.

I guess what weighs on me is, how can I conquer alcoholism without resolving/controlling all the internal issues that led me to it? It's like taking medication for depression. There is no medication to address "I think I'm crap." All the medication does is help enable me to get out of bed and go to work even though I think I'm crap. Does that make sense?