Notices

Another 1st time post

Old 08-16-2005, 05:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Another 1st time post

Hey all,
Quick background:
24 y/o M, I have been drinking heavily for 3 years, very heavy for about a year and a half now. I really want to quit. I've spent too many nights drinking myself silly.

I'm approaching the 48hour without alcohol mark as I'm writing this. I've got a headache, one that seems to put pressure on your eyeballs. My lips are constantly dry and I have a dry throat, I make sure to drink lots of water though. I've tried to quit before, lately nearly every week, so I'm familiar the symptoms. Tomorrow night is typically the night where I would relapse and fall back into the routine, not this time.

It's the first time that I admit to other people that I have a drinking problem and want to quit drinking. Even though it's through the internet, I'm still hoping it helps. Anyway, just wanted to tell someone.

Take care
Old 08-16-2005, 06:06 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome and Hello!

How wise of you to seek answers to your drinking! Congratulations!

Hard candy and aspirin will help. And yes...water is super!

Make a different plan fror tomorrow...
an AA meeting would be the best idea I can think of.

Please keep in touch...we are here to help you.
Old 08-16-2005, 06:42 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Dan

Welcome 2step.
Day three was the deal breaker for me too, it seems.
Do something different, from the moment you wake up.
Glad you came in.
Old 08-16-2005, 06:49 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Good for you, man!

I wish I had the self-awareness at 24 that you have. It took me another six years to figure things out.

I know that this message board helps me a lot. I don't always post, but I read it several times a day, and strangly I find that reading about drinking takes my mind off of drinking...if that makes any sense.