Notices

Concerned binge drinker seeks answers?

Old 07-18-2005, 05:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
jpeace

Concerned binge drinker seeks answers?

Hello all....I'm new to this part of the forums, my BF is cross addicted to alcohol and cocaine so I've been hanging out in Al-anon/Nar-anon but I am slowly realizing that I need to look at my own behavior too. The more I learn about addiction, especially about the allergy/obsession theories you guys were talking about in Sadie's thread, the more I become concerned about my own drinking.

I've been lurking here reading mostly and seeing myself in a lot of the posts, yet seeing people very different from me in others. I don't drink daily, I never lost a job for being drunk (although I have called out sick, like I did this morning, from being too hung over to go to work on occasion), but when I do drink, it is off to the races. It's almost always a form of self-medication, like last night, because I just didn't want to deal with the pain I was in this weekend. But, even at a social event, I just can't seem to stop once I get going and start getting that lightheaded, buzzy feeling. Woo hoo, I say....another round of shots please, and need I say I'm one of those everyone's best friend types when I've had a few too many. Got a lap? I'll probably end up sitting in it at some point during the night.

The last time I drank before last night was exactly 60 days ago at my confirmation party. And yes, I got blasted. My friends were all there, so why not, right? Yee hah and all that.....Felt like poo the next day and vowed to stop. Didn't touch a drop til last night when the bottom fell out of my weekend and all I could think of was, "MUST-NOT-FEEL-PAIN" I even called my mother in law crying because I was so loaded and felt so stupid for getting that drunk but kept going because I wasn't numb enough. The trauma has been resolved today but that "damn am I an idiot" feeling is still there again, along with the normal hangover symptoms.