Notices

Question to long term abstainers

Old 12-05-2020, 01:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question to long term abstainers

I used to binge drink for several years.. I've been completely sober past 200 days (7months come Dec 15).
Am I out of the woods yet? what are the chances of slipping from this point?
your thoughts and experiences welcome!
Have a blessed day!
Old 12-05-2020, 01:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

The chances of slipping depend on how badly you want to be sober. If you want to be sober more than you want to drink, you're likely to stay sober. For me, my sobriety got stronger when I started practicing gratitude every day.
Old 12-05-2020, 01:55 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

I've been sober over 10 years. I don't consider it "abstaining" from alcohol. Abstain means to "restrain oneself from doing or enjoying something." I'm not restraining myself from alcohol or the enjoyment of drinking. I don't drink. I don't have the urge to drink. Therefore, no restraining myself. Because I focused on my recovery from alcoholism, not on just abstaining from alcohol.
Old 12-05-2020, 01:57 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

It gets easier provided I place something in its place. My relationship with God, appreciation of life no matter what cards I'm holding. Some years were easy, some during life drama events were difficult to accept. I 100 percent took drinking off the table. I'm also very careful of any drugs taken in down to cough medicine (actual coughs before COVID-19).

Having been to 3rd world countries in the military gave me an appreciation of how good I have it. As least said, gratitude!

Old 12-05-2020, 02:05 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Eastern Row

I think success depends much more on continued effort and vigilance, not simply on time sober.

Having said that I was into my second year when I knew with certainty I would not drink again.
My life changed, and I did too.