Notices

Do I qualify?

Old 11-28-2004, 09:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Do I qualify?

Hi gang. I'm been hoping you can help me sort through an issue I've got. I've been attending AA meetings more off than on for about six months now, and have spent the great majority of that time sober, with the occasional lapse now and then. Currently I've got about a month of sobriety to my credit.

My problem is this: though I identify myself as an alcoholic during meetings, I'm really not sure that's the case. True, my drinking was getting out of hand. But at my worst I was never really drinking more than about a bottle of wine a night, five or six nights a week. Now I find myself wondering whether I'm going because I need to go, or because it pleases my wife and some of the acquaintances I have made in the Rooms. I've read the big book, and I can identify with parts of it though not all, and I've heard the old adage that normies don't go around wondering if they're alcoholic. Still, in my heart of hearts there's doubt.

I guess my questions are these: (1) is this normal, and just alcoholism trying to talk me back into my cave? and (2) how did you get past it (or have you)?
Old 11-28-2004, 10:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I don't think anyone can really answer this except you.For me,I knew long ago.Long before I decided to stop.Perhaps you should read ch.3 once again."We do not like to pronounce any individual as alcoholic,but you can quickly diagnose yourself.Step over to the nearest barroom and try some controlled drinking.Try to stop abruptly.Try it more than once.It will not take long for you to decide,if you are honest with yourself about it.It may be worth a bad case of the jitters if you get a full knowledge of your condition" I'm not sure if this is good advice or not.I am definatlly not suggesting you go drink again.So don't go and try to tell your wife the people at SoberRecovery told you to go drink. Its simply a quote from the big book.
Old 11-28-2004, 10:40 PM