Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism
Reload this Page >

Help! Alcohol withdrawal or neurosis? I thought I was going to die...

Notices

Help! Alcohol withdrawal or neurosis? I thought I was going to die...

Old 11-08-2019, 04:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Help! Alcohol withdrawal or neurosis? I thought I was going to die...

I am an alcoholic. I'm not new to the forums, I have posted on here many times before. Today I called an ambulance due to having a severe panic attack, which I believed was a heart attack.

I suffer from OCD, a neurotic anxiety disorder. It is well known that sufferers of OCD are more likely to abuse alcohol, and I have been a heavy drinker for more than twenty years. I have been promising to stop drinking for at least fifteen years, with limited success.

I drink on average about 100 UK units a week, whilst one is advised not to exceed 14 units. I have recently made a huge effort to stop drinking, and managed six consecutive days at the beginning of October. I have then managed a few other days, here and there. I use diazepam (valium) to control the withdrawal on days when I am not drinking, though occasionally I have completely clean days where I take nothing at all.

I have read about the Kindling Effect, and was wondering whether today's episode could be attributable to that. Over the last seven days I have only drunk on Sunday (six pints of beer, 1 double whisky and half a bottle of wine = approx 21 units) and Wednesday (6 pints and four cans of beer = approx 20 units). I took 5 mg valium yesterday...could today's panic be a result of alcohol withdrawal?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old 11-08-2019, 04:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate