Notices

Driving: Before & After Recovery

Old 08-03-2018, 09:03 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Driving: Before & After Recovery

This post isn't about driving with alcohol in my system. (FWIW, there was only one time in my life I drove after drinking (usually someone else drove me) and it was potentially dangerous. It was because the wine glasses at a work lunch holiday celebration were huge glasses. I had two glasses because of the "f**k-it's" and to follow the crowd, but I should've known better.)

It's about driving before and after my recovery work. Alcoholism and recovery is much more than just the alcohol. It's the noise in our heads before recovery work, and the quiet in our heads after recovery work. I drank to quiet that noise, and to feel a sense of ease and comfort.

I always thought I was a relatively safe driver. But in hindsight, I "drove out my emotions". If I was in a bad mood, I took it out on my driving. I cursed in the car. I was angry. I'd comment on every other driver's bad driving skills. I moved my car with anger. I used the horn aggressively.

If I was running late, I took it out on the other drivers, as if it was somehow their fault for making me late. I was very impatient while driving.

If someone took the parking spot I wanted, I'd get angry, bang the steering wheel, curse, and get all pissed. Why in the world did I make it to be such a big deal??

If I saw a very unsafe driver (unfortunately there are a lot around here.....), I would scream "HOLY SH**!!!!!", blare my horn, etc., as if it would make any difference. They know what they're doing and they don't care. They feel invincible.

If I was seeking an adrenaline rush, I took it out on my driving. Nothing too crazy---but still. Not the way I should've been driving.

If I needed to get to the liquor store before it closed, I didn't obey speed limit signs, and cursed the entire drive there.