Notices

My problem with Dry Drunk syndrome and despair

Old 07-22-2018, 10:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy My problem with Dry Drunk syndrome and despair

Hello all, I am new to this forum and non-native english speaker, so forgive me if Iīll make some grammar or spelling errors.

I have BPD and I am in psychotherapy since 2001. (now Iīm 39).

My entire twenties, especially first half, I have spent consuming light and heavy drugs and behaving like a nymphomaniac. Paralelly with narcotics, I discovered booze, which I drank entire time during my treatment with psychotropic medications (then, AD-s and Xanax mostly).

First time I started drinking in college, trying to self-medicate my depression, anxiety, depersonalisation, derealisation and loneliness. I was an excellent student nevertheless. I continued with drinking after first psychotherapy visit, wholeheartedly and enthusiastically mixing booze with meds. I drank everywhere: on exhibition openings, poetry readings, festivals, concerts, in clubs, private parties – and alone. Untill 2008. I progressivelly drank myself into oblivion. I would embarass myself in public, dancing on tables, kissing and making up with strangers (both men and women), taking my clothes off, singing hysterically, falling and rolling on the clubbing floors.

Last three years of my alcohol dependency I couldnīt function anymore: I traded day for night and vice versa, I lost my inspiration for visual arts, I cut myself and I suffered terrible memory losses and blackouts. I even had pseudomystical, pseudoreligious, half-psychotic experience with spontaneous orgasms and speaking with two different languages (male and female, aggressor and victim).

I was even raped once I was alone on the vacations, when I went outside after drinking whole bottle of red wine. In the local caffe few guys dropped something in my drink and I woke up in my hotel room beaten, bruised and with twisted ankle.