Notices

Both parents are alcoholics & I need help...

Old 07-04-2018, 05:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Both parents are alcoholics & I need help...

Hi, I’m a recent college grad that lives at home with my 2 parents & younger brother. Both of our parents are alcoholics, & have been unhappily cohabitating for most of my life. Their drunken spats have been traumatic for both my brother and I since we were young. I’ve begged for years for them to seek help, even going so far as to help my mom look into AA in the area. She won’t go unless my dad goes with her, but he doesn’t believe he has a problem. When I was in elementary, one of their drunken fights turned physical & landed my dad in jail and anger management. He is an angry and irrational drunk, so confronting him when he’s in this state is not an option. He calls my mom horrible things and tells her she needs help and what a loser she is for being dependant on alcohol, while he himself is a bottle of whiskey and half a bottle of wine deep. He has struggled with weight on and off, and recently claimed he would quit drinking in order to help lose weight and help his liver (yeah, doctors orders). Here we are not even 48 hours later and he is plastered, passed out in bed at 1pm. Though I’m not sure where he did the actual drinking because it wasn’t out in the open. They constantly fight and spew hateful words, and it is getting hard to deal with. I don’t know what to do. I have a job but I’m not even close to being able to live on my own or pay my car/phone bills. I feel hopeless and stuck. I don’t have any one I can stay with, and I fear worse what would happen if I did leave. Neither of them will admit to a problem and my brother and I are forced to walk on eggshells to avoid blowouts. While my dad has never put hands on me, he has been known to push my younger brother around with force. It isn’t healthy for either of us to live in this situation. If anyone has any advice I would greatly appreciate it.