Notices

A shell of my former self

Old 05-09-2018, 08:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A shell of my former self

Hi, this is my first time genuinely reaching out. I've stumbled upon SR by Googling this morning "what a pint of vodka does to your body six days a week, every week for about 7.5 steady years". I've been drinking vodka for about the last year, but before that it was a pint of whiskey. Had to stop the whiskey because it's true, it does make you angrier. I'm not an angry person. I'm really laid-back and care a lot about others. The whiskey was proving to be too much for my body to handle on a daily basis. That's when I switched to vodka. I drink liquor over beer because it gives you a quicker buzz. Overall this has been a reoccurring vicious cycle since 2011. I'm about to turn 38.

In my twenties I drank a lot of beer and smoked even more weed. I smoked weed for over 10 years everyday, but I quit that when I was 30. My dad was an alcoholic and so is all his brothers and sisters. My moms dad was an alcoholic too. I never thought alcohol would be a problem for me like it was for my dad. After all it was drugs that took my dad not the alcohol.