Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism
Reload this Page >

Six months sober (had a couple of drinks recently and my reflections)

Notices

Old 04-15-2018, 05:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi everyone,

it's been a while since I posted here, and a lot of good things have happened in my life.

In Mid-September last year, I stopped drinking alcohol, and did six months of no drinking.

I finally lost the beer belly that has plagued me ever since my late teenage years, and got close to a completely flat stomach

I made a lot of personal and professional changes in my life also, finally getting out of the old career I was stuck in and moving towards following my passion in writing. I now work as a freelance writer and I'm actually earning a living doing so. I'm grateful for this, grateful to finally be able to move away from the black dog (alcohol/depression cycle) that had plagued me for many years.

Now I must say that I have had two occasions over the past month where I have drank alcohol. I had two drinks about a month ago, and I had one drink on the weekend. Both times I had made a conscious decision to drink and actually I was able to experiment with what the alcohol was actually like.

Well, the first time I had two Belgian beers with in a Belgian restaurant. I felt what I can only describe as perhaps taking the edge off the date I was on, a bit more relaxed, but neither a good or bad feeling. I enjoyed the taste of the beer, at the time.

Fast forward to this weekend, and I had one 'Guinness' at a pub after a meal. This time round, I didn't actually like the effects. It seemed to go straight to my head and I felt a bit stupid in front of my girlfriend. Again, I felt numbed, and I ran out of things to say a little bit. It wasn't wholly unpleasant or pleasant, but I would say the so called 'buzz' was slightly more on the unpleasant side.