Notices

The darn drinking dreams!

Old 04-14-2018, 06:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Samantha

The darn drinking dreams!

Just had a bad one! I can’t beleive how real they feel. This one I also did drugs, which I’ve never done before. I was also at a bar with people and that I don’t do either when I’m drinking haha.
Old 04-14-2018, 06:24 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I don't know how much sober time you have, but I haven't had a drinking dream since about six months sober. I rarely even remember dreams these days unless I over sleep.

I reckon it's just another reason not to go back to it, huh?
Old 04-14-2018, 06:43 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

I still have them on occasion at 5 plus years sober, so yeah - they hang around for while. They are just dreams though, try not to read anything more into it than that.
Old 04-14-2018, 06:47 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Samantha

Originally Posted by ScottFromWI View Post
I still have them on occasion at 5 plus years sober, so yeah - they hang around for while. They are just dreams though, try not to read anything more into it than that.
I’m not . To me they just seem so real and actually worse than real life.
Old 04-14-2018, 06:51 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
p***enger

I still dream about drinking and drugs from time to time -- it's natural since I spent so much of my life focused on them. Like dreaming of a place where you lived a long time.

They serve to remind me that my inner self is still influenced by its experience with substances, even though I'm sober now. It gives me a little dose of acceptance on awakening.
Old 04-14-2018, 04:00 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

I frequently have drinking dreams (at 51 days), to the point now I wake up and am mostly able to brush them off. They still are very intense and hit on some deep dark rooted emotions.