Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism
Reload this Page >

How long did it take for your withdrawal to start?

Notices

Old 02-17-2018, 10:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

So I've decided to make a go at sobriety. Some background:

I've been drinking EVERY DAY for the past five years (almost 6). This last year-and-a-half I've been killing either a half-gallon of booze or about a litre of moonshine (~180-185 proof) a day. My routine is:
4-6 shots for breakfast
500mL water bottle full with lunch
250mL over the next 6 hours after lunch to keep the buzz going
The rest of it in a 2-hour period before bed

I drank all this and was never what I would consider "drunk" just "loosened up". Normally I'm as silent as the dead but with all that alcohol you can actually manage to get a word or two out of me. Not nervous around people just don't have much to say.

So now that I've quit cold-turkey, (last drink was on Mardi Gras; giving this Lent thing a try) I'm kind of (EXTREMELY) anxious about withdrawals. I know they're different for everybody but I'm more interested in the time it took for them to onset for you or somebody you know. It's been barely 4 days and other than my decline in sociability (HA!) I feel no different.

Tl;dr how long after quitting drinking was it before you or somebody you know experienced withdrawals?

I'm happy to answer any questions if it'll clarify anything.
Old 02-17-2018, 10:57 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Well the standard answer is, "everyone is different." I mean, that is the truth. I think if you are okay at four days, just be careful. Extreme anxiety is part of it - increased heartrate, rebounding nervous system. I don't think you're out of the woods yet.

If you are concerned, go to a doctor.