SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Alcoholism (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/)
-   -   New -day 3- advice would be great (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/421525-new-day-3-advice-would-great.html)

Samartist 01-08-2018 10:00 AM

New -day 3- advice would be great

Some of these stories are very inspiring. So I’ve been drinking everyday for about 10 years the longest time I’ve had off is 10 days and that was due to antibiotics and I would smoke weed as a semi-substitute.

I’m not trying to give up entirely at the moment because being honest with myself, I know that’s unrealistic, for now I just want to cut down. So, I’ve said to myself I will have a couple of drinks next Saturday (not get totally wasted). I’ve been sober for three days, this is day four (on two of those days, I smoked a little weed but really not a lot).

I’ve been feeling so strong and fantastic but now - I’ve hit a wall. And I’m just crying for no reason. What do I do!? Is it better to drink today then stop again? Like take it three days at a time to begin with? Or just ride it out? One minute I am fine, next, I feel rage or upset or deflated. It’s such a rollercoaster, I’m not sure what to do. I have so much I want to achieve and I feel like alcohol is just a BOULDER -in the way. I want to reach a point where I can enjoy a drink socially maybe twice a month but not drink at home for no reason but routine. Advice would be so appreciated x

ScottFromWI 01-08-2018 10:07 AM

Welcome to SR Samartist and congrats on 3 days sober. It's common for you to feel not so good during withdrawals, especially if you've been a daily drinker for that long. Your body and mind need time to heal - and while it's the last thing an addict wants to hear, it's going to take time.