Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism
Reload this Page >

Help Wanted . Must always be available and for no pay !

Notices

Old 12-18-2017, 11:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello . I have been reading the comments on this site for quite a few months and have tried to get the courage to join up . I did this a couple of weeks ago and started writing in. Because I was drunk at the time that comment got wiped off and failed to get sent. I did the same a few days later and again something went wrong , so now it's third time lucky , (and this time whilst sober ) .
I've been drinking for about 5 years but have really wanted to give it up over the last year or two . Especially these last few weeks as I feel things have got worse as I'm not suffering the hangovers as bad and am now able to drink every day as a result . Also I was actually thinking of drink driving the other day which shocked me as I'm not normally like that . It's started interfering with my job and partner although not to the point of losing both , (at the moment) . The only reason I drink is for the effect , although not been getting much of that these last couple of years ; and also anxiety as I'm not good meeting people at gatherings , so use it as a relaxant . I even drink when really happy and don't need to so perhaps it's just a habit now . I don't want to attend meetings as I'm too nervous and am not particularly religious. Any help or advice would be much appreciated . I've seen postings here about making a plan and I have done that and it helped but didn't stick rigidly to it. I know it's all about will power and I truly want to give up but will power isn't working at the moment. I last drank yesterday (2 bottles of wine) and really hope this is the last time. Sorry for the long posting. Thank you once again for any help proferred . Regards
Old 12-19-2017, 12:03 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Firstly welcome!