Notices

When does the anxiety end ?

Old 10-14-2017, 09:26 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

When does the anxiety end ?

I have been drinking for 9 years , i didn't even know what panick attacks were before that , for the last 4 , 5 years i have psysical symptoms, shakes and so on, but i dont drink every day , 3-4 times a week, but every time after i drink i have those awful anxiety symptoms. In 2013 i stopped drinking for 35 days and they seemed to go away completely. How long do i need to not drink for those panick symptoms to go away ?
Old 10-14-2017, 09:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by LazaB View Post
I have been drinking for 9 years , i didn't even know what panick attacks were before that , for the last 4 , 5 years i have psysical symptoms, shakes and so on, but i dont drink every day , 3-4 times a week, but every time after i drink i have those awful anxiety symptoms. In 2013 i stopped drinking for 35 days and they seemed to go away completely. How long do i need to not drink for those panick symptoms to go away ?
Hi.I think we all have differing experiences with drinking related anxiety attacks.I didn't have any when I was drinking,they kicked in during the first few weeks of recovery but didn't last long,around 3weeks.You are doing great by wanting to stop drinking.Here at SR there is the most genuine,caring support.Keep posting and take a look at the links regarding recovery plans.Stay strong and focused,you can do this
Old 10-14-2017, 09:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you, if someone had the same symtomps it would be very helpful for me to know how long will i have to wait until i feel like before ( when it comes to anxiety ).
Old 10-14-2017, 09:56 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi LazaB -- I know you won't want to hear this, but it's the truth: it takes as long as it takes.

Anxiety is very common when quitting drinking, but there's no standard timetable for when it goes away. It varies tremendously according to the individual.