Notices

Trying again

Old 06-27-2017, 08:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying again

This is my first time posting on SB and I figured it would be a good place to get feedback. I am 44 and i have been drinking since my early teens....beer and wine mainly. The last 10 years my consumption went up...I was drinking from the time I woke up to bedtime. In 2014, i started having health issues.... neuropathy, loss of balance, vision problems etc...finally in 2015 i quit for 2 months, mainly because of family pressure. I was prescribed Librium and detox went well. I relapsed for 6 months. Drank heavy. I then quit for 1 year, this time around it was my decision. I thought I could control or moderate my drinking so why not try again? I managed ok for a little while but started slipping out of control again. Went on for 3 months. I never reached my previous levels of drinking but life was becoming unmanageable, I noticed I had a more difficult time controlling my anger, I was tired all the time....I realized I needed to stop again. I didn't worry too much about withdrawals since I hadn't drunk that much. I am on day 2. I didn't think I would need Xanax but yesterday was a bit harder than expected so I took a few. I am hoping the next few days will be easier. I still cannot accept the idea of never drinking again. A part of me wants to believe that with enough time I will be able to manage my drinking. Acceptance is my hurdle. I want to believe that I am different....withdrawals won't affect me much, I can drink again later....what has your experience been like thru this process?
Old 06-27-2017, 09:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Maladaptive

I was sober for about 7 years after a medical diagnosis. Thought I could have it on special occasions. Didn't view myself as addicted then. Just thought it was medical. To be honest to myself, i finally admitted to myself it was medical due to alcohol abuse.