SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Alcoholism (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/)
-   -   I'm new to this (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/408585-im-new.html)

highlonesome 04-25-2017 10:32 PM

I'm new to this

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this and I'm not sure what to say. I'm even a bit embarrassed by it. Still, I need to stop drinking and I'm having trouble. I'm not interested in AA, but I'm beginning to realize I might not be able to do this on my own. I don't want to ask what to do, or how to do it (because that's relative), and I can't afford a psychologist. So here I am.

I'm not posting in the new person threads because I don't want to hear the crap people say to newcomers. I've heard it before.

I smoke cigarettes, I drink way too much, I quit smoking weed a long ago (probably around the time I started drinking more), and this is the first time I've been on a forum since the internet came out.

That's my short history, and I'm interested in hearing from you. If you can help me, that's awesome; if I can help you, that's awesome too.

Dee74 04-26-2017 12:18 AM

You will find help encouragement and support here, and not too much 'crap', even in the Newcomers forum...

I'm one of the Newcomers Forum mods. ;)

welcome aboard :)

D

PhoenixJ 04-26-2017 12:26 AM

Let me see- when I had everything and drank too much- I spent money on - psychiatrists, hypnotherapy (self), meditation, private hospital rehabs, psychologist, addiction counselling, acupuncture, herbalists etcetc- EVERYTHING I could to prove I had my drinking under control, tht I was not a lebelled AA alcoholic. Then in 1 night- the tether to that life broke and I ended up homeless, very close to death and with nothing.