SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Alcoholism (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/)
-   -   Here we go (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/406547-here-we-go.html)

Bootwalker 03-20-2017 04:13 PM

Here we go

So I'm new to this. I am relatively new to sobriety. I didn't drink till after college (I know a bit backwards). I drank to black out just as my father did. I became sober last year and had a full year under my belt. Then on my honeymoon I literally picked my new brides drink up (mistake or not it happened) took that sip and instead of spitting it out like I should have once I realized, I allowed it to reinvade my entire existence. That was 204 days ago. Since then I've had only around 40 days without a drink.

All I want to do is get a bottle tonight (again) and drink.

I don't know if this is the right utilization for this particular forum. Just sharing for help I guess.

Thanks for your time.

Gottalife 03-20-2017 05:28 PM

Wow. I did something like that at my first sober Xmas. I had taken one swallow before I realised. Spat out what I could and drank heaps of water, and escaped the phenomenon of craving which you experienced. It really scared me. I was and still am so serious about my sobriety I was going to any lengths to get well. I would have had about 10 months at that time.

I guess you now know you have the phenomenon of craving, something that ordinary drinkers do not get. The mission now is to find a totally reliable defence against the fatal first drink. You found out how feeble human defences can be. Yours crumbled in a second of carelessness, not the accident of taking a drink, but the insane decision to let it flow.

I found my defence through AA and it has never let me down.

Done4today 03-20-2017 05:37 PM