Notices

Having fun Sober

Old 02-04-2017, 10:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Having fun Sober

Hi, I am new to this thread and have been sober for over 3 yrs. My question is, how do you still have fun? I go to Christmas parties, and or any other outing and just don't seem to be able to be myself or have fun. Everything seems boring when everyone else is having fun.
Old 02-04-2017, 11:10 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Semi-Professional Philosopher

When I drank and went to parties, I made a fool out of myself and didn't even remember doing it. I think I like sober better.
Old 02-04-2017, 11:11 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Welcome to SR lvp and congrats on getting sober. Yes, it's possible to have "fun" without drinking. Its pretty common to feel like you are feeling now, but what your mind/addiction is trying to do is trick you into thinking that drunk=fun. And because of that we try to continue activities we did before just without alcohol sometimes. And to no surprise, if you hang out with other drinkers it's going to be pretty boring.

Have you tried reaching out to the recovery community locally? It's a great place to meet new people and learn new things. Joining a gym or a church group or volunteer organization are just a few more of many options. What you will find is that alcohol actually holds you back and limits your options, you are now free to choose from almost any activity you want.
Old 02-04-2017, 11:14 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Ivp5 View Post
Hi, I am new to this thread and have been sober for over 3 yrs. My question is, how do you still have fun? I go to Christmas parties, and or any other outing and just don't seem to be able to be myself or have fun. Everything seems boring when everyone else is having fun.

I can identify with this because my wife still drinks everyday as do most of my friends.

I still do the same things but I don't drink. I do get bored and irritated when everyone else is getting wasted and seem to be having fun.