SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Alcoholism (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/)
-   -   Cold turkey (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/402464-cold-turkey.html)

Pave 12-27-2016 03:04 PM

Cold turkey

I have been drinking almost every day for the past 7 years. 6-8 beers and one hard drink daily. I am on day 4 of no drinks, no medication. The first three days I have had a headache, insomnia, and today got a little light headed. I am drinking lots of water. What should I expect from here?

PhoenixJ 12-27-2016 03:17 PM

Hi Pave- every body reacts differently with sobriety. I would strongly suggest you get a full medical done by your doctor. So you know and understand where you are and what you need to do to be healthy and not relapse.

Pave 12-27-2016 03:22 PM

Thanks

Originally Posted by PhoenixJ (Post 6263040)
Hi Pave- every body reacts differently with sobriety. I would strongly suggest you get a full medical done by your doctor. So you know and understand where you are and what you need to do to be healthy and not relapse.

I just had a full physical and everything is fine. I did not mention trying to quit drinking at the time though.

ChloeRose63 12-27-2016 03:26 PM

I hope you are not alone. It is important that someone knows what you are doing. I Googled everthing I could think of about home detox because I wanted to know what I was up against and when I should call 911. I also found a timeline which helped me count the hours until my body was clean.

Pave 12-27-2016 03:32 PM

Thanks

Originally Posted by ChloeRose63 (Post 6263058)