SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Alcoholism (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/)
-   -   I took my sobriety for granted (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/401739-i-took-my-sobriety-granted.html)

Splash29 12-13-2016 06:25 AM

I took my sobriety for granted

I feel so guilty for relapsing after THREE YEARS of sobriety. I had such a clear head on my shoulders and it all fell apart. I've been binging for two months now on the weekends and I am so foggy I don't even know where to begin. I can blame it on so many things like my broken relationship (which I DO harvest resent meant still towards if I'm honest). I just wish I could have my clear mind back. I back to square one the oh-****-is-real stage. UGH. Just so angry at myself and feeling sorry for myself. Not helping I guess just sound pitiful. Not even sure I'm making sense right now. :headbange

Thought I could hold my head high after my relationship ended, but clearly didn't. Let that two glasses of wine at a girls night quickly swirl into blackout nights drunk driving home. Scary how fast I resorted to my old ways after THREE YEARS sober just took less than two months to unravel all that work. Was so hung over sunday, vomiting in my car on the way to gas station to buy gaterade. This is not where I am supposed to be. :(

Hawkeye13 12-13-2016 06:51 AM

Yeah, I went right back to where I was and worse after nearly two years sober on my last and final relapse.

Just put down the drink, and start again.
That's what I had to do, and it worked.
I've just accumulated another 13 months of sober time,
and I'm never going back to the bottle.

You know you can do SS, because you've done it before.
Just go for it again and really accept you just can't have one ever :grouphug:

soberclover 12-13-2016 06:56 AM