Notices

Being a blackout drinker

Old 04-23-2016, 03:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Being a blackout drinker

Hi,
I've been drinking for ten years and had to stop because I had more and more blackouts (at work, during family dinners, at the airport, etc).

I had a few relapses since I stopped. But each time I relapse, I would just have a few drinks and then blackout.

Last time I relapsed, I remember drinking one beer, buying some rhum.. and waking up 36 hours later (seemingly I went to the church on a motorbike in between).

Does anyone have that kind of reaction when drinking. It's pretty scary..
Old 04-23-2016, 03:30 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I did and there are chunks of time I will never recall. That scared the crap out of me and it's one of the reasons I quit.

I urge you to join me. Things will not get better until you put the bottle down. You will hurt yourself or someone else if you don't.
Old 04-23-2016, 04:02 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I never really blacked out till my last bender, where I blacked out for a week. I apparently paid bills because my bank account showed it. I also drove to repeatedly get more alcohol and remember none of it. Scary stuff.
Old 04-23-2016, 04:14 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

It's horrifying! The last blackout drunk I had in 2006, I woke up in jail. I ran into the back of a parked jeep, totaled my car, but, thankfully, no one was hurt. After all this time, I still only have bits and pieces of what happened.

Unfortunately, it took me two more years to finally get the help I needed to stop drinking once and for all.
Old 04-23-2016, 04:43 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I used to drink to blackout every night, for years. A good night was when I remembered going to bed the next morning, and there weren't many of those. Frequent blackouts are a pretty good sign it's time to quit drinking.
Old 04-23-2016, 06:08 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Yes - I have had blackouts. So incredibly terrifying and definitely a huge reason I want to remain sober.