SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Alcoholism (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/)
-   -   Being a blackout drinker (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/390067-being-blackout-drinker.html)

lesuisse 04-23-2016 03:10 PM

Being a blackout drinker

Hi,
I've been drinking for ten years and had to stop because I had more and more blackouts (at work, during family dinners, at the airport, etc).

I had a few relapses since I stopped. But each time I relapse, I would just have a few drinks and then blackout.

Last time I relapsed, I remember drinking one beer, buying some rhum.. and waking up 36 hours later (seemingly I went to the church on a motorbike in between).

Does anyone have that kind of reaction when drinking. It's pretty scary..

On The Road 04-23-2016 03:30 PM

I did and there are chunks of time I will never recall. That scared the crap out of me and it's one of the reasons I quit.

I urge you to join me. Things will not get better until you put the bottle down. You will hurt yourself or someone else if you don't.

bluedog97 04-23-2016 04:02 PM

I never really blacked out till my last bender, where I blacked out for a week. I apparently paid bills because my bank account showed it. I also drove to repeatedly get more alcohol and remember none of it. Scary stuff.

suki44883 04-23-2016 04:14 PM

It's horrifying! The last blackout drunk I had in 2006, I woke up in jail. I ran into the back of a parked jeep, totaled my car, but, thankfully, no one was hurt. After all this time, I still only have bits and pieces of what happened.

Unfortunately, it took me two more years to finally get the help I needed to stop drinking once and for all.

JeffreyAK 04-23-2016 04:43 PM