Notices

Have I turned into a dry drunk

Old 09-19-2004, 01:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Have I turned into a dry drunk

It's when I look back on the last 20 years of boozing I realise how much of my life I missed and I can't help wondering how things would have been if things had taken a different turn.

I've found that my drinking friends weren't real true friends so nowadays I can count my real friends on one hand. I look at other people my age who haven't spent the last 20 years drinking. They have home-lives and relationships that I haven't been able to develop

I feel like I blinked and missed everything

Where I used to work as an IT support tech I was called up to fix a problem someone had with their system. I sat down at the guys desk, he said he'd leave me to it and disappeared down the hallway to get a coffee. While I was waiting for his PC to reboot I noticed a picture frame on his desk. It was full of maybe twenty photographs that he'd cut out and created a montage. It had a picture of his wife, a few of his kids, one of him on his motorbike, one of his dog, some holiday snaps and some pictures of what looked like his family at Christmas. In other what I was looking at was an insight into his life.

So it got me thinking if I was to create a montage of photos I could put on my desk, what pictures would I put in it. What a depressing thought. My montage would be a photo of me at my desk at work and a picture of me on my sofa at home with a beer in one hand and a cigarette in the other. That was it. No interests, no family, no life, just working and drinking.

Nearly two years ago I stopped drinking and then in January this year I lost my job. So what I'm left with are the bare bones of the "life" I used to have. I suppose I'm glad I lost my job, I hated it and of course waking up in the morning without a hangover is wonderful. I'm trying to build up a life now but it's happening very slowly.