Notices

Moving helped me cut down drastically

Old 02-24-2016, 12:28 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Moving helped me cut down drastically

I've been drinking heavy for about 7 years, with the use of cocaine as well. I would have to say boredom was my major trigger with lack of goals and responsibilities; working from home and being my own boss.

Reason I needed to stop is the anxiety the next day and not being able to be around people without panic setting in. I had to be near an exit, inside my own vehicle or very close to my home to feel safe. If I didn't have control of being able to escape (ex, lineups), for no reason I'd feel panic.

I've cut down massively(once or twice a month with no use of cocaine), but I was only able to pull it off by moving to Asia, but now I'm facing daily Anxiety or maybe depression.

The mornings I feel like my senses are heightened and I dred simple things, like going for breakfast or just walking around the busy streets. It feels like everything is too much to handle.

I want to do physical activities like working out, but I fear I'll have anxiety in the process. This is preventing me from doing many things and I'm not sure when I'll feel normal again.

They say to replace drinking with activities but now I'm scared of activities, because of anxiety :X
Old 02-24-2016, 12:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the family. When you stop drinking, your brain goes into hyper drive. It's been depressed so much by drinking that it goes crazy when you stop. Anxiety during withdrawal used to send me back to the bottle.

I had to tough it out and just not drink. The anxiety gets better with time.
Old 02-24-2016, 06:42 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
12 Step Recovered Alcoholic

I am in Asia at the moment. If I can be of any help, just P.M. me.