Notices

Alcoholic/sober thinking

Old 01-27-2016, 06:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
p***enger

Alcoholic/sober thinking

1. I have a professional event to attend tomorrow at which wine will be served, liberally. A few of my colleagues have already made silly asses of themselves salivating over the prospect. One made a big production number out of laughing off her "dry January."
  2. Anticipating this, I began to seethe good & early. What pikers, what children, amateurs! Was Ms. Dry Jan a closet alcoholic, about to throw away a flirtation with quitting? Were they mocking me and my hard-won day count? I started brewing up a stew of nasty resentments at the entire cast as if they making a personal affront to my sobriety.
  3. Then I prepared a vent post.
  4. Then I realized it was a vent post, and thought it might be more interesting if I could make a positive recovery post. This was a puzzler at first -- where's the silver lining in this situation?
  5. Then I started thinking about what I've learned so far:
    -- that if something disturbs me, some element of the disturbance is in me
    -- that I was *looking* for an excuse to resent these people, with whom I drank once or twice, who are younger and prettier than I, and still drinking.
    -- that they, being human, have problems of their own.
    -- that the only reason I need concern myself with their problems is if they seek help from me, or if they interfere directly with me.
    -- that unless it's one of those two, I may as well feel glad if they are well, or sad for them if not.
    --that I feel better and am likely to act better when I encourage myself in thoughts like these, instead of envy, pride and anger.

Just wanted to share -- you *can* turn around the twisted thinking of an alcoholic mind!

Old 01-27-2016, 06:52 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

My alcoholic thinking was very depressing. Full of despair and self loathing.

My sober thinking is very positive, grateful for my blessings.